Monday and peaches. 

I don’t know about you but 6:30 am came just a little too quickly for me this morning. 

I am an eternal optimist for warm weather but instead was greeted by the harsh breathe of winter’s lingering presence. I groggily made a hot cup of coffee and attempted to awaken from my much needed sleepy state.  

 

With our weekends this past month eaten up by unpacking festivities and rummaging through the chaos to get our house in order the time to take a breather has seemed almost impossible. However, this weekend between the chores– Gary and I were able to celebrate a friend’s birthday as well as our 6 year wedding anniversary! We were a little low key this year in our celebration but enjoyed our time just the same. This past week I tried my hand at a new cobbler recipe. My go-to blackberry cobbler recipe from Pioneer Woman has never steered me wrong but I wanted to try something a little bit different and perused Google for a mouth-watering substitute. I stumble upon Ms. Paula Dean’s website and low and behold I found a sweet tooth satisfying peach cobbler recipe that I just can’t get enough of. My Dad enjoyed it so much he made a blackberry and another peach one as well. 

 

I don’t know if you have been running around with a messy schedule or enjoying the lull of your day to day routines this month but I thought I would share a few tid- bits of from our weekend and one very delicious cobbler recipe that will have you and your friends and family coming back for more and to keep you warm on cold days like today. 

Enjoy! 

 

Peach Cobbler

Time: 60 minutes

 

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups of self-rising flour

1 stick butter

½ cup water

2 cups sugar, divided

4 cups peaches, peeled and sliced

1 ½ cups milk

Ground cinnamon, optional

 

*I’m going to tell you right now that I opted for canned sliced peaches with 100% fruit juice(the juice doesn’t matter too much, because I did end up draining it off and not using it. But It’s better than that thick nasty syrup the try to “flavor” it with), I also did not use the water, I did add 1 cup of quick oats, and instead of cinnamon I used the McCormick Pumpkin Spice blend for the top.

 

Preparation:

 

Pre-heat your oven to 350.

 

Combine the peaches and 1 cup of sugar in a saucepan and mix well. Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes. * If you are using canned peaches you can cut this time in half.

 

Put the butter in a 3-quart baking dish and place in oven to melt. * I let my butter brown just a little bit before I pulled it out of the oven.

 

Mix remaining 1 cup sugar, flour, 1 cup of quick oats and milk slowly to prevent clumping. Pour mixture over the melted butter and do not stir.

 

Spoon your fruit on top, gently pouring in all the contents from the saucepan. Sprinkle top with * McCormick pumpkin spice blend. Batter will rise on top during baking. Bake for 30-45 mins.

 

To serve, scoop onto a plate and serve with either ice cream, whipped cream , or a little bit of milk.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

