seasons.

Ahh, October!

The chill in the air, the sweaters and boots clinging from our hearts to our toes as we crunch through falling leaves…there’s nothing like it.

It is the slow beginning of fall and the exit of summer’s bounding sunshine. The time of year that school supplies are on every shelf of big box stores, lines of traffic are perilous, and fresh vision whips in the wind of eager hearts both young and old. The time when we  see the seasons change and turn towards something new, something better. A turn in a new hope and a new chapter.

It’s been a whirlwind of adventure full of twists and turns and in my short absence many things have shifted, changed, and begun. Here’s a run down of all that’s been going on:

  • Earlier this year, my job announced that they would be in a large transition as they were merging with a larger health ministry. Associates who were employed at the business office would be impacted long term by this transition as well as any positions not in direct patient care roles. There was talk of possible retention or the latter fallout of layoffs and severance packages. With many worried hearts we continued with business as usual until a final decision was made around August of this year. The decision came and business as usual would cease with the Spring of the coming year. With the announcement of closure I decided to move forward in continuing my career with another healthcare facility prior to the layoffs in hope of securing a position before the influx of associates would storm the job market. I’ll be completely honest… walking away from my job that had become like a family to me the past two years was extremely hard. I questioned myself back and forth as I drove to my new place of employment. I cried in private missing the sweet friends I had grown so close to and attached to so quickly. I learned so many valuable tools,policies, and information about the healthcare system and how it lives and breathes. And I truly gained a lot of wealth of training and incredible professional relationships that it made it harder to walk away.
  • However, it’s been a little over a month now at my new job and I think I am finally getting into the rhythm of a new schedule and juggling all the other pieces of pie on my plate. It may seem like it’s not that big of a deal, but I went from a schedule where I was able to come in anytime from 7-9:30 am and then work 8 hours or I had the option of doing 4-10 hour shifts. I always came in as close to 7am as possible so that I would have time for homework, cooking dinner, and the gym before my husband got home from work. Currently, my schedule has been flipped… completely flipped and I currently go in A LOT later than 7am. BUT I have time in the morning to go to the gym, work on homework and occasionally have dinner prepped before I come home that evening. It’s a lot to get used to but getting so much better. I even like coming in later as it makes my day fly by!
  • With all this change, Gary and I were originally planning on going back to Africa next summer,this time to Zimbabwe. But plans changed in a different direction and we are instead taking a much needed personal vacation to Thailand the summer of 2017! We will be spending our time at a beautiful fishing resort and will have some amazing opportunities to go snorkeling at Phi Phi Island, fish at Gillham’s, ride elephants, and experience Thai culture. I’m excited to be checking some more items off my bucket list as well.

It’s amazing how small everyday things can have such a large impact on our day to day lives.

I think that’s why I adore fall so much.

There has to be a changing of leaves and the move from harsh summer days– to cool autumn nights.  The withering of lush greenery and the slow decay of natural elements only to be re-birthed with the coming spring’s rains. We each experience some sort of change at one point or another in this life; but we are always promised another spring. Seasons we know come and go. And change..change can be hard. Change pushes us out of comfortable seasons of life to be bombarded with newness and foreign territory. It gets us out of ruts and encourages our flesh to yield to something deeper. But it’s when we lean into the change and take a look at the journey around us that we see it’s not so bad to get out of our supervised bubbles of comfort. We get a completely different outlook and are re-energized with a fresh focus. I encourage you where ever you are, whatever you may be facing or going through, lean into the change…lean into the season and give it your all.

Embrace the season, and live for the change.

 

To improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often. -Winston Churchill

 

Leave a Reply

