10 years in the making.

10 years.

That’s how long it has taken this dream of mine to come to pass. 10 years of spilling my heart out to God asking Him when? When will I go to Africa? When will it be my time to tread upon that soil? That 10 yearlong dream didn’t come like I thought it would. That dream that was birthed in me at a Hillsong Conference in Orlando, Florida which was in the midst of my broken heart from a failed relationship. Plans that seemed so secure suddenly vanished and I was left open, wounded, crying out my heart’s ballad with Brooke Fraser as she led us in Hosanna.

But through that pain God birthed a bigger dream in me. A dream that didn’t involve that guy but involved my heart strings being firmly fixed on one place…Africa.

I knew that after I heard the song ‘Albertine’ by Brooke and her story behind it I couldnt just go back to my life and live normally. I knew somehow someway I would make the trek to Africa. To hear other people’s stories, to listen to their pain, and to show them the love of God. 

 And in the  wake of heartache once again, God is showing Himself ever faithful and is bringing my dream to life.

Africa is on the horizon.

In 8 days I will board a plane with the man of my dreams to serve beside people who have had that same dream incubating in them. With my Grandma’s passing at the beginning of this May and all the feelings and roller coaster of emotions you go through with the passing of a loved one –my dream has breath. As next week approaches I think the reality will grip me in a huge bear hug, but it still seems so unreal. Malaria pills have been obtained, yellow fever shots taken, passports issued and itching to be inked with lands that are separated with the vastness of the ocean. 

8 days until Uganda, Africa. 

Faithful is He who calls you, and He will bring it to pass. 1 Thessalonians 5:24

Leave a Reply

