Mother’s Day on the Island. 


This year Mother’s Day was celebrated on Anna Maria Island. This island and Coquina Beach that shares these sandy shores is near and dear to my Mom and I’s hearts. I grew up having birthday parties along these shores, scooping up sea shells in my pail, squishing the warm soft sand between my toes, and worshipping with friends on this beach. It harbors many memories and friendships…all very special and dear to me.

This past weekend was one of the hardest for my family and I. We buried my Grandma as she passed away from metastic stage 4 breast cancer. This would be the first Mother’s Day without her. It still doesn’t seem real that she is gone and it’s especially hard  within the month of May as my Mom, my Grandma, and myself celebrate our birthdays in this month.

Loss is never easy.

It leaves a big gapping hole in your heart in the shape of that person.

Allowing ourselves even for just  a day to get away from the heartache and grief gave us peace. Listening to the laughter of families together on the shore, little girls pretending that they are mermaids, sand castles, dock fishing, ice cream shops, boat and jet ski rentals, and the sound of seagulls and gentle cresting waves lapping the earth. All of it such a beautiful reminder of God’s unfailing faithfulness and love in our lives. Even know my Grandma has passed from this life, she is rejoicing in eternity free from disease! And I can’t be sad about that. To know she is with my Heavenly Father and I will see her again one day is pure joy!

Always make every moment, every memory, every celebration count. Honor your loved ones and tell them how much they mean to you. And with Mother’s Day, don’t let one day dictate your relationship with your mom. Hug her tight, keep her close, and let her know just how much she means to you.

Mom’s are a wonderful gift from God.

They are strong and courageous, full or spirit and joy, they do the thankless job time and time again and always believe in you. I’m so eternally grateful for my Mom. I don’t think I will be ever be able to truly thank her and let her know just how much she means to me. She is a beautiful woman of God, she believes the best of people, she covers you in prayer, she listens and encourages, and makes me feel like I can conquer the world. There is no one on this planet quite like her and I love her oh so much!

Thank you Mom!

I love you, always and forever.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

