battle.

Every Great War has a battle plan. A strategic and intricate mapping of how the victory will be obtained and won. I spoke the other day on my post: War, that we as believers are in a spiritual war whether we want to realize that fact or not. We have a real enemy who is scheming to take us out and to thwart our destiny that God has for us.

(If you haven’t read that post yet, please go back and read that one first, you’ll be glad you did.)

Our battle is that of spiritual matters. It’s not people that are our problem it’s the spirit that’s working behind the scenes to keep us defeated, poor, sick, and in bondage. But there is good news, as Christian’s– salvation gives us comprehensive coverage and protection for the battle that wages on every single day. Since we have the protection, we must use it to defeat the enemy.

I told you the other day that the movie War Room really ministered to my heart. It reawakened a fire in my soul and I’m so thankful that it did. I was praying at the beginning of this year for God to give me a banner word for this year and I felt Him impress upon me the word: birth. And with that word my prayers became easy of asking Him to birth a new fire, a new love for Him and His people. I said all that to say, through that movie the lead actress caught my attention. Her character was inspirational and I decided to google the cast and see what I could find out about that actress. I was led to Going Beyond Ministries of Jerry and Priscilla Shirer through my search– and have been soaking up Priscilla’s teaching ever since. I never realized she was the same lady I had seen in passing in my local Lifeway and Mardel’s Christian Stores whose books and devotionals I had grazed upon previously.

I began to take note and direction from the movie on how to pray more strategically in my own life. I journaled my prayers and backed them up with scripture. (Tip: If you don’t have a journal to scribble prayers in I definitely recommend it. I have been journaling my prayers since I was in highschool and it has helped me clearly lay out what I am believing God for and seeing it come to pass.) I began writing out my prayers on copy paper and attaching sticky notes with the corresponding verse to stand upon. I put these prayers in a plastic sleeve to protect them so when I put them up in my closet and I go before God I can be reminded of what His word says and exactly what I’m believing for. I have also started writing down “weekly victories”, small areas that I’m believing God for victory in my daily walk. I truly enjoy going back to those victories and crossing them off one by one as God responds and takes care of each need and request. Again, it reminds me…my human…dust-made self of how faithful He is!

There is nothing more satisfying then waging war and fighting with the right weaponry–it makes all the difference.  Below I have laid out three ways we use our weapons to fight the battles that are happening in the spiritual.

 What do we use as our weapon to fight spiritual battles?

  1. Prayer 1 Thess. 5:16-18, Philippians 4:6-7,Colossians 4:2,Matthew 6:6
  2. The Word of God, Hebrews 4:12, Psalm 45:3, Psalm 149:6, Ephesians 6:17
  3. Walk it out and stand firm 1 Cor. 15:58, 1 Cor. 16:13, Ephesians 4:1

I may be young but God has brought me out of a divorced family, unhealthy relationships, loss of a family member, marriage problems, financial strains, college failings, and has set me up to always come out on top because I trusted and relied on Him. Each of us has a story and victories that accompany our life of where God has provided and how He continues to show Himself faithful in every stage of life. 

So my question to you is; how are you going to fight?

  

  

Leave a Reply

