War. 

Theoden: I will not risk open war.

Aragorn: Open war is upon you, whether you would risk it or not.

         –The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

I’ve briefly been candid with my readers about the trials and the defeat that was hovering over my life last year and the real struggle it was to get out from under it. But God has brought me out of that despair and defeat and has reminded me of my victory in this battle. I had the opportunity to rent War Room from Redbox within this New Year. I hadn’t had the opportunity to see it in theaters so I was anxiously waiting for it to come out in Redbox and on DVD. The movie completed fired up my spirit! I can’t begin to tell you how much that movie has ministered to my life! I’m happy to say that I am the proud owner of the movie now, and have watched it on several occasions.

Being a big time movie/cinema lover, this art form has a way of curling around my heart strings and leaving an immeasurable impact upon my life. Through that movie I was reminded of how I need to be fighting in my own life. How I need to fight in my relationships, my work environment, and in my marriage. Somewhere along the way that fight had begun to simmer in my walk with God, and this led to the defeat that I was dealing with. God kept reminding me gently, like the gentleman that He is, that He hasn’t gone anywhere and that now is the time to move forward. With the plan to move forward in mind– I started being strategic in who I allowed into my life, what I was listening to from people around me, and how I was going to approach my battle plan for the rest of my life.

Whether we realize it or not we are fighting a spiritual battle.

A battle that the naked eye cannot see but one that the spirit is alive unto and discerns. We have an enemy and he wants nothing more for us to struggle in this life and not step into the plan God has for us.

Lets take a look at what the Bible says:

Ephesians 6:12; For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood but against principalities, against rulers, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, and against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.  

And in 2 Corinthians 11:14; …Satan masquerades himself as an angel of light.

And in 1 Peter 5:8; Be sober, be vigilant, because your adversary the devil walketh about as a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.

It’s imperative that in our life as Christian’s we take hold of the power and authority we have in Him to war against the enemy and his devices and schemes. Our battle plan is found in the Word of God! It revives us, it protects us, it prepares us, it sharpens us, it corrects us, it sets us up for victory every single time. As believer’s, as those who follow after Him, we fight differently than this world. We don’t do things the way the world does them but we arm ourselves with the Word of God and break down spiritual hindrances. This is exciting for you and me, because we don’t have to live defeated and despaired. We don’t have to wiggle under the enemy’s thumb any longer!!!

There’s more that I want to dive deeper into on this matter and I want to share this with you all on another post with my battle plan and what that looks like for us as we press into God and use our weapon of prayer to overcome and destroy the traps set by the enemy.  

  
 
 

Leave a Reply

