The Los Angeles Dream Center: 2014

Post trip: It’s been almost three months since I traveled with my church team to Los Angeles, California to serve and minister to the people of Los Angeles. To say my life was changed is an understatement. That trip was my very first in traveling for missions. And I needed time after my trip to sit back and absorb everything I had just been apart of.

I apologize for my digital silence.

The people I met, the places I experienced, all of it was almost other-worldly–yet in my own back yard. The thing about LA is you have such a stark contrast, you have true poverty all around and then the facade of the rich and famous just down the road. You have people living in boxes and using sweatshirts as pants because they just don’t have any. You have people–who have families, dreams, and even education who are pulled into poverty’s suffocating hold. Young, middle-aged, and old who the rest of LA has forgotten about, who the rest of America has ignored. Our society makes it easy to be the passerby; the ones who can postpone our compassion and turn the other way to become too busy for the needs of our America and the people all around our world.

Romans 10:14 Amplified Version

But how are people to call upon Him Whom they have not believed (in Whom they have no faith, on Whom they have no reliance)? And how are they to believe in Him (adhere to, trust in, and rely upon Him) of Whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without a preacher?

Missions has been on my heart for many years and this trip was certainly the forerunner for many more that Lord willing, I plan to be apart of. Africa was first placed on my heart when I was in high school and the desire for my feet to cross oceans and borders has only grown. It wasn’t until after my Grandpa died shortly after my husband and I got married, and I had graduated from Bible School, that my heart really began to look at America and the importance of my country in need of God. I began to truly listen to the people around me, the people at my job, in my community, in my backyard and the struggle and hurt they faced without God in their lives. God brought to my remembrance time and time again of people he specifically placed in my life to encourage,uplift, and push me towards the goal.  I began to understand and appreciate the liberties of our country and the pride my Grandpa felt fighting for a country he believed in whole-heartedly. A country who slowly turned away from the God they once knew. This is my America, and my home and I believe that as a believer we must plant seeds in our own backyard and abroad. We must spread God’s Word throughout all the land, even in our own land’s ignorance. I get excited about missions in America and missions internationally because it is the catalyst that welcomes change in people’s hearts to know their God!

My husband and I are part of a very large church in Tulsa, Oklahoma–Church on the Move has been our home now for a little over three years and we love it there! The worship team, atmosphere, events, and teachings from Pastor Willie George have been our foundation. My church’s mission team has exploded since this initial trip as part of our ‘Love your neighbor’ initiative and as we welcome 2015 we have not one but four trips planned for this upcoming year. These trips involve two domestic here in the United States and two international trips which include: Peru and Honduras. I am very excited to be apart of the New York City mission trip where we will be partnering again with The Dream Center. After this domestic trip I hope to wet my feet upon international waters and touch lives with God’s Word abroad.  Please pray for myself and my team as we travel to New York City.

Stay tuned as I will be posting pictures from the LA trip in a separate post to expound on my time there.

Here is our LA Missions Team, The Dream Team. 

  

Leave a Reply

