the inevitable.

Yesterday, the mother of all questions surfaced through a dramatic youthful sitcom. It’s really “THE” question for our lives that we all come to at some point and some time. The question is simply this:

What comes next?

Allow me to be vulnerable for a bit and confess that I’ve been going back to the basics in my walk. Time and time again, it’s those basics that get us through and urge us on to the deeper horizon in our relationship with God. A few months ago I found myself in a bit of a stir-crazy panic of forgetfulness and not knowing the answer to this question. I was promptly reminded of one of my favorite verses in Habbakkuk 2:2-3 which says;

“Write the vision
And make it plain on tablets,
That he may run who reads it.
For the vision is yet for an appointed time;
But at the end it will speak, and it will not lie.
Though it tarries, wait for it;
Because it will surely come,
It will not tarry.”

So, of course what do I do? I grab a blank Moleskine journal and start writing. Writing down my plans for school and career. After taking some time to research different areas in my specialty that I would later pursue, peace just flooded in. God is good like that. He always leads by peace.

When you are able to write down the next step and keep it before your eyes, it reinforces the vision and extinguishes any fires of doubt and frustration. As all questions do, it began to bleed into other areas of my life. Things that needed to be accomplished or tackled and procrastination had taken ahold of. And honestly some of the things are just normal tasks, things we put on the back burner and tell ourselves we will make time for later…until later never comes. I have to admit this is a constant battle for me. Even in school, my heart and mind were always about going out and doing instead of sitting in preparing. But, don’t make that mistake. God has given me grace to keep preparing me and my heart for His purposes. Don’t let the eagerness of your vision sidestep the preparation time. Just as if you are making chocolate chip cookies and have all the ingredients and you just then decide to throw the ingredients, along with their packages, into the oven and wait 30 mins thinking –BOOM– cookies are made…no. You must prepare the ingredients, one by one. Each with attention to detail and specialty.

It’s the same for us.

Pursue and prepare.

We have to be passionate about our pursuit. We are constantly rowing up against the current of society, deception, disappointment, temptations, and the things of this world. We need the strength and perseverance that only God can give us to keep moving forward. And He always gives us exactly what we need in each season of our life.

So, if you are in the fork in the road asking yourself what’s next? I urge you, get quiet, wait on God and allow Him to take ahold of your plans and give you peace. Write it down, voice memo it on your phone, keep it on a post-it note on your bathroom mirror and keep it in front of you–so that no matter what comes against you, what tries to pull you from the clutch of God–you will be immovable.

What come’s next?

2 thoughts on “the inevitable.

  1. Seriously needed this! I have my “what’s next” written down and I constantly read it, but it’s still a little terrifying (in the flesh) to pursue the unknown. Thank God for being a God of peace and all-knowing! Very encouraging post! 🙂

    Like

    • That’s awesome girl! Keep going. It’seasy to listen to our flesh and think there is no way I can do this. But time and time and again God has shown me how BIG he really is. I think it’s something we all experience in our walk of waiting and trusting in Him.

      Like

Leave a Reply

