busy,busy,busily

This weekend my church is starting a new series called: Too Busy Not to Pray. I have to say that I’m stoked for this series! This has been something of a focus for myself and I’m ready to jump in feet first. I’ve blogged about the “busy-ness” of life and really attempting to drop that weight from my lifestyle. There was a point in my life that I truly came to the end of my rope. “Busy” was sucking the life out of my being and taxing my personal relationship with God and my family. I’m so thankful I had the strength to keep hanging on and hanging in there for my relationships and my health. It’s been about a year now from that struggle and I have felt at times the lingering cold fingers of “stress” and “anxiety” groping around my neck. God always provided a way of escape and has given me the authority to tell those burdens to flee.

Coming into the rest of God has to be habitual, to the point that our flesh learns not to leave. We can get so bombarded with billboards of stress, anxiety, fear, frustrations, anger, contempt, etc. on the road of life that we step out of the umbrella that is our God’s protection. That protection is our safe haven, our true strength comes from abiding in Him. Stress and life’s worries are inevitable but we do not have to bow down to them. Those feelings are not our master.

Take a look at what the Word says.

James 4:7; Resist the devil and he will flee from you. Verse 8 goes on to say: Draw near to God and He will draw near to you…

Isaiah 1:17 says; Learn to do good; seek justice, rebuke the oppressor, defend the fatherless, plead for the widow.

Psalm 55:22 says; Cast your burden on the Lord, and He shall sustain you; He shall never permit the righteous to be moved.

Hebrews 4:9 says; There remains therefore a rest for the people of God.

The devil is a scumbag. He brings all that he can of problems, issues, and worries forefront so that’s all we can focus on. But if we would just take a step back and look up to where our help comes from…we would know we are not alone and the battle is already won. Today, as we charge into the weekend let’s grab ahold of the peace of God. His peace will never run out, never leave us high and dry, but His peace will give life to the most decayed pieces of our heart!

For God and His glory!
Deuteronomy 31:8

Leave a Reply

