small things.

5:50 am.

Yea, that was the last time I looked at the clock this morning. As Gary went about his morning routine of making lunch, and breakfast being devoured. I was awake and wasn’t going back to slumber. Shortly after hugging and kissing my wonderful husband goodbye,he stepped into another work week and I decided on a whim that Monday’s need to start with French Toast! So that’s what I set out to do before the rooster crowed this morning.

These quiet morning moments always leave me full. Full of happiness and joy to be where we are and what God has blessed us with. Gary and I both recently finished our Spring Semester classes and we finally have some breathing room. The busyness of life is unavoidable, but I do believe that when we make the time to slow down and enjoy each step we see God’s grace and vision more clearly.I personally have tried to put that into practice in my own life. I’m sure you can imagine after the early cook-off and sugar rush had pulsed through my veins I was out like a light. Thankfully, on my days off I do have that luxury of being able to go back to bed, to recharge my batteries. One thing I had my heart set on doing today was searching for one of my favorite and very lost CD’s. I absolutely adore the 10,000 Reasons album by Matt Redman. I devour it; every time I listen to it. There’s just something incredible that happens when you listen to worship music. You have His portable presence available to you anytime and anywhere and that is so crucial in these days. So, I had an inkling that my CD was—soooommmmewhhheeere— in my car. Now, I have quite a collection of CD’s in my car, cause I am constantly blaring my music like a rebellious sixteen year old. I have Teaching Tapes, Worship CDs, Whitney Houston’s Collection, and some awesome Christian Rap. It’s a cornucopia of limitless options. I always find that one of my favorite places to worship and pray is in my car. I just love it! Spending that uninterrupted time with God is so fulfilling! After a little searching under the seats and in the trunk, my prize was attained! Of course, time is ever fleeting and I decided to clean the inside of my car out and completely detail my dash and doors, etc.

As I was cleaning my car, I sat there wiping away the dust and grime of neglect and thanked God for giving me such a dependable car. In that hour I was reminded of how we always need to be good stewards of the things God has given us. “Busy” can cause us to neglect the blessings of God and our focus has to be redirected back onto the things He has given us charge over. I was meticulous in my cleaning process. Cleaning out the nooks and crannies, making sure that dirt had no place and no home to call its own except in the trash. That meticulous cleaning is how the Word is with our hearts and lives when we give them up to God. When we allow God to reprove us and cleanse us, and to even prune away that which is dead from our spiritual members we come out of the “car wash” a new person. A new being alive and full of purpose! This process can hurt, it can agitate our flesh, and cause a little disruption.

But the process is worth the patience.

The process is what prepares us for the Promise.

So today, take heart in the process. Knowing that you are refined for His glory! Know that no matter where He leads you, directs you, or uses you…it’s for His glory an His alone and there is nothing that can match being in His will.

These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith–of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire–may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.
-1 Peter 1:7

Leave a Reply

