superficial.

Like termites or rot, and not a facade but a knowing…deeper without simulated answers knocking down our front door. We can dress up a corpse but the stench of what’s inside will seep out. I want my life to be a beautiful fragrance of God’s goodness. I want to know Him more as I advance in years. To keep pursuing, to keep diving deeper, into Him. This past Valentine’s day, Gary had a box delivered to my work. One of my love language’s is definitely gifts…like most women. But it meant so much to me for him to take that time and have those things sent to me. In the package one of the items was a baby rose-bush. It was adorable and budding with new bulbs of life. As I brought my treasure home I nursed it and took it under my wing making sure to water it and prune it daily. The thing about pruning is, you’ve got to catch it early. You’ve got to cut away the dead and diseased in order to bring out the true life of the plant. This pruning process is difficult and sometimes extremely hideous. Leaving the once full bushel plant to a meager fragile being.

But it’s not fragile really.

It’s being strengthened. As the dead is pulled away new life and strength are put in. I made the humble mistake of,just recently, forgetting to prune my little rosebush. And in the end decay swiftly choked the life out of it. It was just a few days of forgetting that important time of pruning that my rosebush suffered its demise. You know, we are like that rosebush. When we are pruned and watered in the Word, new life sprouts in us and we become stronger in God. But when we start to stray away from our Author, we swiftly come to decay. John 15:2 says; “Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit He takes away; and every branch that bears fruit He prunes, that it may bear more fruit.” V. 4 goes on to say; “Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me.” And James 4:8 says; “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.” All because of what Proverbs 3:12 says; ” For whom the Lord loves, He corrects…”

Because of His love.

This Friday; I challenge you to dig deeper and to not abandon your pruning time. Our pruning time counts and brings us closer to Him and to becoming who God purposed from the beginning. Let all the decay from the world be sheared away so that we might hear His heartbeat in our purpose.

“If we aren’t growing daily, we are dying gradually.”
-The Dean’s List

20130503-074517.jpg

Leave a Reply

